LEGEND OF THE 7 LAKES: EPISODE III: Seeing (on Google Earth) is Believing


Lake 4 of the sixteen or so

Lake 4 of the sixteen or so

By Ikenna Okonkwo

The is the third post in the series on the lakes of Opi, Enugu state, Nigeria. Previous posts can be found here and here.

My being in Ibadan did not stop me from making trips from time to time to Nsukka for different reasons (Masters, a job at the department, scholarship, etc.). I was still missing a lot of action though. Ndubuisi got his chance to see the lakes on a trip to the same area with a Masters’s student and confirmed the existence of one lake, plus the usual rumors about the others. Better imagery was now available from Google EarthTM of the area and when I checked again I discovered not one or seven but sixteen lakes!

Overview of the lakes I've found so far

Overview of the lakes I've found so far

Lakes 4 and 5 (by my reckoning)

Lakes 4 and 5 (by my reckoning)

Lakes 12and 13

Lakes 12 and 13

I must admit that they are not very big (they would have been more popular if they were ); but at least they exist and have provided me with new excursion destinations for the coming months.

The geological explanations for the presence of the lakes have also begun to come together, but that story is for future posts.

One thought on “LEGEND OF THE 7 LAKES: EPISODE III: Seeing (on Google Earth) is Believing

Leave a Reply

