Accretionary Wedge: Back in time


The June edition of the Acrretionary Wedge geoblogospheric carnival was hosted at outside the interzone. I’m obvious late as usual but the topic was too intriguing to so here i am with a one month late. the intruiging post is

“Where and when would you most like to visit to witness and analyze an event in Earth’s history”

Actually if I had a time machine I would go through the whole of geologic time on the spot where I’m on (Nigeria) to see how the land I live on has changed through time. But to narrow down I’ll go for the cretaceous when the Benue trough was evolving. there are still a few important questions to be answered:

  • Is the Benue rift a failed arm of an R-R-R triple junction formed at the early stages of the opening of the Atlantic (similar to the red sea-afar triangle) or is as a result of transcurrent movement along the chain and chacourt transform faults?
  • How extensive were the various trangressions in the area? Did all transcontinental connections between the Tetys and the Atlantic exist?
  • What caused the Santonian compression and it’s accompanying magmatism?

I’d also like to see the sedimentary environments where the formations of the Benue rift and the adjacent Anambra basin. And many more things.

The images are from here>

Where I'm talking about, 120 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 120 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 105 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 105 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 120 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 120 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 65 million years ago

Where I'm talking about, 65 million years ago

I’d also like to see Nigeria during the Pan- African orogeny (650-500 million years ago) to see how it happened and how those intrusions which stand out as the inselbergs I blog about earlier formed.

3 thoughts on “Accretionary Wedge: Back in time

  1. I’ve been trying to figure out how to bring this in and draw a little attention to it… sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. I’m editing the original post now.

  2. Pingback: Why Geology? « Nig-eosyncline

Leave a Reply

