Accretionary wedge: Geo-Images wish list


It is almost a year since I took part in the Accretionary Wedge geoblogospheric carnival. This it is hosted at Highly Allochotunous Allochthonous and it is on images! In their own words:

It could be a photograph you’ve taken of an outcrop or process in action; a diagram from a classic geologic paper or text-book; a satellite image of an incredible landscape; an optical microscope picture of your favorite mineral; something topical, or an old and inspirational favorite. Whatever strikes your fancy.

I guess this offers a chance to add some Nigerian flavor to things  although my best images are satellite image fall on my must-see-before-I-die list here’s 2 of my favorite for this months wedge.

The Lamurde Anticline

The Lamurde anticline is one of the most impressive features one can find in the Benue trough where similar structures are rare. This NE-SW plunging (NE) anticline is a result of transpression within the Benue trough during the Santonian to probably Maastrichian age. The fold structures in the Benue trough all follow a similar NE-SW trend, but unlike in the lower benue trough -made up of predominantly shales and in a more humid environment- one does not get to appreciate the folding except after analysis of attitudes at isolated outcrops.

Goosenecks

The first time I read about incised meanders in areas of rapid uplift or lowered base level the pictured example used was of the Goosenecks of the San Juan river, and I understood clearly what it means for uplift to literally take a meandering river unawares. This is one the places I desire to see one day and I can only settle for satellite images and this wonderful panoramic view.

© Hank Waxman (Panoramio.com)

8 thoughts on “Accretionary wedge: Geo-Images wish list

  1. Great locations, Ikenna! I love the river working its way through the anticline in the first image and the goosenecks are absolutely classic. I’ve got to remember to show them to my Fluvial Processes class next time I teach it.

  2. It is hard to imagine someone growing up in this region and NOT wanting to be a geologist. I certainly could not resist.

  3. Pingback: Accretionary Wedge #25: An Illustrated Glossary of Cool Geological Things « The Accretionary Wedge

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review—4 747 Hits « The Failed Rift

Leave a Reply

